The Old Man and the Sea

“A man can be destroyed but not defeated” – Ernest Hemingway

Despite the grand Hemingway references there’s not much of a story here.  No epic “Man vs Nature” struggle or any great drama just a morning ride down the beach at San Onofre State Park.  “Man vs. Sleeping in Late” or “Man vs Sand” might be a more appropriate characterization.  Just a few photos that capture the spirit of a beach ride less the crunchy drivetrain and ensuing maintenance that’s always required after a spin through the shifting sands of San Onofre. P1100095 I love riding this stretch: it’s beautiful, it’s uncrowded (on a midweek morning) and it’s always thought-provoking. The bluffs hem you in so that the only direction that can be faced is the sea and the horizon, and who among us isn’t forced to confront certain questions while facing the horizon. If you hit it at the right time of day and squint really hard you can imagine the beach as being your own tiny salt-infused universe, if only for the duration of a precious little curl of the waves lapping the edge of the space-time continuum. This morning the touch of early “May Gray” sullenness enhanced the scene. P1100083 P1100135 I am at a crossroads right now.  Big changes are just over that horizon and as I pedaled down the beach I thought of an article I had stumbled upon while idly surfing the internet the other day. Titled  “The Moral Bucket List” it had some interesting things to say.  Take a look if you’re interested in a thought-provoking read, I especially like the concept of “the stumbler”. Heck, while trying to get this shot of the wildflowers and my bike I stumbled a bit – it’s what I do. At least I usually stumble forward.P1100118 P1100123 A stumbler though I may be, it sure is nice to sit down over twelve hours later and still smell the salt air that engulfed me as I climbed back up the bluffs and into the dawn of a clear new day.  For a guy that’s starting to feel a bit old as I attempt to heal this nagging hip joint problem, I sure felt young.  Nice morning for a ride. P1100126 P1100128

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Old Man and the Sea

  1. artisterika says:

    So happy for you that you can carpe diem 😉

Leave a Reply

