Faltering Words on the White Rim

“The pictures tell the story, this life has many shades…” – Dropkick Murphys

As you know, I’m the kind of blogger that likes to form a story around my experiences.  Maybe tell a tale or try (usually unsuccessfully) to weave some sort of symbolic statement into the recounting of what is really just a bike ride – something almost all of us have done since we were children.  I find it fun and it’s a passion of mine, which is why I keep babbling away on these pages.  The truth is I’ve been sitting on these photos of my first ride on Utah’s White Rim Trail (yes, I will be back some day!) as I really want to write a proper story about what this trip meant to me.  It was a turning point of sorts, but finding the time to babble has been a little difficult as of late.  Take it from me, when life intervenes on your babbling time you’re on the wrong path.

So for now I’ll keep my mouth shut, post a bunch of photos and let the scenery speak.  Hopefully the sights of Canyon Country will motivate you to get out and experience a place you might have always wanted to ride but never quite ponied up the sweat fee.  If you’ve ever wanted to ride the White Rim but thought it too regulated, too crowded, too overdone, too remote, too tough, too easy, too everything… well you’re right, it can be.  But as with all rides, it is what you make of it.  The one thing that is certain is that the White Rim is one of those places where words are unnecessary, if not superfluous.  It’s just that gorgeous.

To give you a framework, I’ve posted the photos in the order that I took them.  I loaded my trusty Salsa Fargo up with enough water to drown a whale and then rode clockwise down Shafer Trail camping overnight at Murphy’s Hogback (where I grudgingly shared my dinner with a pesky kangaroo mouse whom I named Edward Abbey, the little son of a bitch). The next day I rode out through Mineral Bottom.  I saw only 5 people out there, a perfect November weekend in Canyonlands National Park.

By the way, one of the best photos I’ve ever taken (in my humble opinion) is mixed in – I got one right finally!  Enjoy the ride.

 

P1090154

P1090183

P1090169

P1090219

P1090197

P1090192

P1090217

P1090200

P1090223

P1090247

P1090265

P1090273

P1090303

P1090326

P1090335

P1090340

P1090350

P1090354

P1090369

P1090421

 

P1090379

P1090386

P1090387

P1090424

P1090414

P1090410

 

P1090432

P1090448

P1090489

P1090477

P1090507

P1090512

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Faltering Words on the White Rim

  1. Good job taking shots without another rider. Looks like a fun adventure. Keep it up.

  2. 2wheeltrails says:

    Holly cow, this is what this bikepacker dreams off.

  3. sloTim says:

    WOW, what a great weekend!! Will you share which photo you got right? Might it be a sunset w/ amazing shadow?

  4. Craig Runnalls says:

    Wow! Fantastic pictures. Thanks for sharing

  5. Pat S says:

    I appreciate the photographic and journalistic effort and talent that goes into each and every post on your blog. This one is especially sweet and provocative. Thank you.

  6. those photos are unreal this ride is on my list now thanks!

  7. Rick F says:

    I rode a 3-day’r on the WRT last spring – but we did it with a support vehicle. Doing it in 2 days and self-supported would be a bigger endeavor. How much water did you schlep? And did you even dare to weigh your rig before departure?

    BTW, Great Shots!

    • Tom says:

      thanks! Yes, a TON of water. I had 100 oz on my back (Wingnut pack), 2 bottles on the forks of the Fargo and 6 liters in my frame bag – a grand total of 2.7 gals. I dumped about 50 oz before the final climb, but better safe than sorry!

      (and no, with that much water weighing was out of the question, I would’ve talked myself out of it 🙂 )

  8. 2speedlife says:

    Wow, fantastic ride and adventure, what camera are you using? I have reservations for this ride the 3rd week of Feb and your pictures are inspiring.

    • Tom says:

      Thanks! It’s a Panasonic Lumix point and shoot. I’ve considered upgrading but I like its small size. It is getting a little old. Frankly, I took some phone pics on this ride that came out great as it’s so beautiful out there, enjoy your trip!

Leave a Reply

