Let My People Go Biking

It’s the end of the year and like most people I’m currently being ground into flour on the millstone of the American dream and haven’t had much time to post recently as my work schedule has become a little bit unmanageable.  Corporations must meet those yearly goals no matter what, right?  Hopefully in the new year I will rehydrate the flour mixture I’ve reverted to and reform as a doughy terminator of sorts complete with many new Doughboy blog posts (hey look, I metaphored myself).  I’ve many new goals for the coming year and I hope you do too – don’t let the bastards grind you down!  If you do have some goals, leave me a comment and let me know what you’re up to!  Maybe our paths will cross.

My first goal is to at least finish the Backyard Fat Pursuit up in Idaho next month.  It’s a homecoming of sorts for me as my first winter race was in WY at the Togwotee Winter Classic (another really fun race, by the way) in 2008.  Really looking forward to heading back up to that part of the world, even if it’s only for a few days.

Until then I’ll spend my days wishing I worked for Yvon Chouinard:

“Work had to be enjoyable on a daily basis. We all had to come to work on the balls of our feet, going up the stairs two steps at a time. We needed to be surrounded by friends who could dress whatever way they wanted, even barefoot. We needed to have flex time to surf the waves when they were good, or ski the powder after a big snowstorm, or stay home and take care of a sick child. We needed to blur that distinction between work and play and family.” – from Let My People Go Surfing

P1090750

Oh, I’ll also be riding in the desert a lot – the bottomless sand is the closest thing I have that replicates riding on snow (and it sure can be purty like this view yesterday from Font’s Point in Anza-Borrego Desert State Park).  Let my people go biking!

10827998_876357549075134_4725300547546966742_o

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

