80 Hours

“Take a right at the light, keep goin’ straight until night, and then, boy, you’re on your own” – Bruce Springsteen

IMAG1823_1

I’ve been wanting to ride the White Rim Trail in Canyonlands National Park for many years now but have always put the idea on the back burner and told myself various things to assuage my guilt.  The things we tell ourselves when we get lazy, things like: It’s too far to go without making it a major vacation. When I’m in better shape I’ll do it. I’m too busy at work right now to take time off.  The sun is in my eyes.  The dog ate my plan. Nostradamus didn’t foretell me riding it so why tempt fate?  The trail’s not going anywhere, I’ll do it next year.  Those sorts of excuses (and worse).

Enough is enough.  The trail may not be going anywhere but I’ve headed over the crest of the hill age-wise and have begun to pick up steam on the steep side.  A few months ago following a particularly frustrating day at work I secured a permit to camp at one of the designated spots along the trail.  Tonight after work I’m driving 750 miles to Canyonlands.  Tomorrow I’ll bikepack half the loop, finish the other half on Saturday then head to Moab.  A stop to rehydrate at the Moab Brewery is almost guaranteed.  Sunday morning I’ll ride some slickrock then begin the long drive home.  Seems like a simple enough plan, why haven’t I made up my mind and done this sooner?

80 hours, that’s the amount of time it should take to pull this off (though I wish I had more).  I’ll run myself ragged as it still won’t be enough time for what I’d like to do but I’m going anyway as it beats sitting around making more excuses.  What dream have you been putting off doing because it seems too difficult to accomplish?  How far will you go in the next 80 hours to feed your soul?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 80 Hours

  1. I can relate thanks for the great read!

  2. Tom says:

    Thanks! yup, it’s too damn easy to just put things off and then BAM 10 years have passed

  3. Gerry says:

    Good luck Tom

    • Tom says:

      Thanks! The trip was a success, absolutely stunning scenery. I just wish it didn’t involve so much time behind the wheel of a car, but you can’t have everything 🙂 Hope all is well with you

Leave a Reply

