Don’t Be An Asteroid

IMAG1306

California is a source of endless frustration for me.  I love this place as much as I hate to love this place – it renders me as neurotic as any character in a Woody Allen movie.  On the one hand I love my adopted state more than any other place I’ve lived.  California is a fantastically varied and beautiful outdoor playground with high mountains, deserts, plains, coastline and everything in between.  One does not grow bored in the Golden State.

On the other hand, I feel a certain level of self-loathing for even saying I love this place.  The southern coastal strip where I live can also be described as a Paradise Lost of infinite traffic nightmares existing in an unsustainable state of fires, floods and droughts.  We have no real source of water down here other than the Colorado River and the Sierra Nevada, yet in this time of drought the golf courses are still green.  When it does rain, we have mudslides.  Construction continues unabated in areas that even in the best of rainfall years have trouble supporting the current population (just take a drive along Rt 395 through the High Desert communities of the Mojave to see what I’m talking about).   And almost everywhere you look, take note of the trash along the roadsides.  Is this the proper manner to treat such a beautiful place?  I think not.  Sometimes I’m ashamed to call myself a Californian.

A few weeks ago I read an essay by Noam Chomsky that contained an observation I found interesting:

One index of human impact is the extinction of species, now estimated to be at about the same rate as it was 65 million years ago when an asteroid hit the Earth. That is the presumed cause for the ending of the age of the dinosaurs, which opened the way for small mammals to proliferate, and ultimately modern humans. Today, it is humans who are the asteroid, condemning much of life to extinction.

Love him or hate him, he has a point.  There is no denying that human activities on this planet are causing massive changes.  As much as I love to drive north and esacape to hike among Giant Sequoias through a place like Muir Grove, am I not just part of the problem?  As lightly as I try to tread, do my footsteps not have repercussions be they large or small?  The wisdom of a 2500 year old tree seems to agree.  I think if they could they would squash us beneath their trunks.

IMG_20140901_071938_1

When I drive my car through the Owens Valley and gaze in wonder at the interplay of cloud and earth in the Eastern Sierra, am I not just wasting precious resources?  Or clouding the skies with my car’s exhaust?

IMAG1334 IMAG1217

IMAG1281

Would it be better to just stay at home instead of driving 300 miles to go ride my bike?  For that matter, would it be better to move to a more sustainable state that has a water supply, less traffic and a better quality of life?  Probably so, but until that day comes I intend to enjoy views like this as often as possible. These are the places that California still makes sense to me, even if it is only for a fleeting moment while admiring the Inyo Range.

IMAG1310_2

Maybe it’s the dichotomy of a 300 mile drive through hectic traffic, followed by 4 hours of riding my bike into the night and a quick, lonesome bivy that makes views like this first thing in the morning so special.  It’s nice to be able to hit the snooze button a few times while watching the day unfold, the silence broken only by the ruffle of feathers from a hawk soaring overhead.

P1090019

P1090027

IMAG1235_1_1

IMAG1253_1

IMAG1288_1

IMAG1264 (2)

IMAG1330_1

My time in the great state of California is winding down, just as my days upon this earth have been dwindling since the day I was born.  It’s time for me to move on.  But until I reach my destination I’ll appreciate the beautiful state of chaos that is California – and do my best to avoid being just another asteroid.

IMAG1371_1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Don’t Be An Asteroid

  1. Michael Schiller says:

    I certainly feel the same.(I “think” I live near you?) I really prefer to start my rides from my front door, but heading off for a dirt based “overnight” adventure is near impossible without driving at least an hour away. But the reward is worth it, I think. Sounds like you do too.

    • Tom says:

      Yes, the reward is usually worth it but sometimes I wonder when I’m sitting in traffic trying to get to that spot. Then I’m not so sure 🙂

  2. Eric Barrett says:

    Beautifully written Tom. As an ex-patriot San Diegan, I’d recommend considering Spokane WA for your next move. It’s worked for me….

    • Tom says:

      Thanks Eric, seems to be a common feeling among those who live here. I need to visit the PNW! I’ve only made it to the Oregon border so far. I’m pretty sure my next move is a little further east, however… ok a LOT further east 🙂

  3. Rick F says:

    As a California native and a resident of the same SoCal megalopolis, I can truly relate to your mixed feelings of our beloved state. For years the Eastern Sierra has been the saving grace that allows me to mentally survive while residing in the madness of the OC. I try to check in to the Eastside at least once a month for “rehab”.

    • Tom says:

      interesting, I’ve thought of my trips as a sort of “rehab” too. What we need is a high speed train with stops along all the Eastern Sierra, although I think my car knows all the turns on 395 by heart now so I could probably just let it do its thing

Leave a Reply

