Spiritual Snooze Button

“All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes, to make it possible.” – T E Lawrence

This afternoon I’m dreaming of wide open spaces, and of one day being able to find the time to ride the Great Divide Mountain Bike Route.  I must admit that my eyes are kind of half-open to the idea as I know that getting a month off from work is an impossibility right now (without quitting, that is), but I still can’t seem to get it out of my head.  I’m starting to obsess a bit.  This is how it felt when I first began thinking about taking a trip up the Dempster Highway a few years ago – a trip that showed me how enlightening travel by bicycle can be – and that was only a week long voyage.  My eyes were wide open at the time.  If I recall correctly I was just starting to get into the groove on that trip so a 3-4 week trip down the spine of North America would be sublime.  It could be life-defining.

But how to find the time?  My eyes just drooped as I lapsed back into the workday coma.  In an instant I’ve gone from positive to… well, not exactly negative but let’s say “neutral”.  Indifferent.  From beneath lidded eyes I tell myself that I’d be crazy to ditch my somewhat secure job and go for it.  We all need to work and a little bit of job security is always a good thing.  Sadly, I also question whether I might’ve become addicted to paychecks somewhere along the way.  It’s nice to be able to pay the bills.

Or is that just the excuse the snoozing dreamers tell themselves every morning so they don’t need to open their eyes as they hit the spiritual snooze button and ignore the alarm that screams for recognition within their soul? Am I falling into the trap of so many people who run out the clock with excuses while muddling through their middle-aged years until awakening later in life with the words “it might’ve been” clenched like a vial of poison between their bitter, stained teeth?  If so, I don’t want to go down that path.  There must be a way to make this work…

So what are you dreaming about today?  Whatever it is I hope that your eyes are wide open and that your vistas are endless.

“For all sad words of tongue and pen, the saddest are these, ‘It might have been’.” – John Greenleaf Whittier

colorado river

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spiritual Snooze Button

  1. Erika Nelson says:

    Enjoyed this post. Guess in my case I’m trying to dream with eyes wide open. I admire that you are able to live a double life and live to tell – hope you fall on the right side when you have to choose!

Leave a Reply

