Scheming and Dreaming

“Scheming demons dressed in kingly guise, beating down the multitude and scoffing at the wise…” – Neil Peart

Being witness to incredible, dynamic scenes such as this early formation of what became a massive lenticular cloud in the Sierra Nevada last November always makes me dream.  One of the reasons I love this photo so much is that I can envision my thoughts escaping into the crisp atmosphere of the Sierra on that frigid morning, a day when I stood shivering in awe after a cold night in the bivy sack and watched the arrival of a strong early winter weather system engulf the entire range.  The devilish mind demons playing in the jet stream provided an overriding sense of being out there doing exactly what I wanted to be doing at that moment – a rare thing indeed.  There was no place on earth I would’ve rather been that day than riding my bike in the Sierra Nevada.

I’ve always been cursed with the “dreamer gene” and true to form I currently have a long list of objectives swirling around in the grey matter.  Some are just dreams, some are more concrete. Though I can’t really feel it yet here in the Disneyland of Socal, Fall has arrived and I’m giddy at the prospect of heading up into the Sierra to play around in the snow whether on skis or on the fat bike.  I’ve also begun laying down the groundwork for my primary “project” this winter: just printed out my entry form for the Rovaniemi_150 taking place in Finnish Lapland this coming February.  I’ve never been to Scandinavia and what better way to experience it than in the dead of winter, right?

Nothing like a little lunchtime dreaming to get me through the rest of the afternoon…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

