Sunrise Season

It has been way too long since I’ve updated my poor, neglected blog – the darn thing just sits there on my bookmarks and mocks me as I’ve been way too busy with other things as of late.  Not that I’ve been sitting on my butt mind you, but finding the time to sit down and compose my thoughts has been pushed to the back burner much too often it seems.  Isn’t that always the case though?  Life can get so busy doing “stuff” that we never seem to find the time to <fill in your own personal blank that helps you get out of bed each morning here>.

That thought was in my head as I walked into work this morning after the long holiday weekend to find that one of my co-workers had passed away on Sunday after a short illness.  Just 7 days ago I knew her as an upbeat, hardworking woman and now she’s no more.  Amazing how quickly life can turn.  I didn’t know her very well, but the news has rendered me a tad shellshocked today.

Even before learning of her death there had been a change in my mood, however.  Though today it’s over 90 degrees outside, I’ve felt the onset of the change of the seasons while rolling out the door into the darkness of the predawn on early morning rides the past few weeks.  The days are definitely growing shorter even in the lower latitudes in which I live here in Southern California.  Pretty soon I’ll be carrying lights on each ride once again.  Maybe one of these days it will even rain, if we’re lucky.

Of course there is no Autumn explosion of color in the forest as the leaves begin to turn as there was when I lived in the Northeast, but at least the sunrise has regained the soft, familiar angle of light I remember from my youth.  As the northern hemisphere begins its slow tilt away from the sun it  once again bathes each new day with the diffuse light of Fall. One of the consequences of this is that the sunrises have been spectacular as of late.  Watching the rising sun from the seat of a bike is always a wonderful thing and I’m fortunate to see many of them this time of year.  Fall had always been my favorite season when I lived in areas with more distinct seasons and it remains so here in the Southwest, but for different reasons. 

Out here in this strange California world, the shorter days of Autumn inadvertently thrust me headfirst into the season of light.  As perverse as the world can seem when you’re a transplant in a foreign land, for me the waning of the light is the beginning of the Sunrise Season.  It’s time to head out and fill in some blanks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

