Help, I’m Being Repressed!

I’ve always felt that if I linger for too long in a grove of Live Oaks I will eventually be strangled.  It doesn’t matter what angle I look at it, those trees are out to get me.  Much to the chagrin of the photographer in me, staring into that maelstrom of limbs while trying different shots just reinforces the opinion that I’m an insect navigating a world of spiderwebs – prey for some sinewy beast.  I love these trees, yet at the same time find them suffocating.  Fortunately this bunch survived the last wildfire that swept through this area.  Maybe that’s my key to settle the unease I feel while standing among them: look at them as survivors.  They also seem to be a favorite haunt of one of our local bobcats as I’ve encountered her on 2 occasions at this very spot on the trail.

In addition, I’ve also been sentenced to a lifetime of the song “The Trees” running through my head every single time I ride through this area.  I can attribute this to my older brother introducing me at a very young age to everyone’s favorite Canadian band “Rush”.  I’ll pass that vicarious thrill on to you.

Don’t you want to run over, grab that bike and get the hell out of there?  Or is that just my repressed Friday afternoon subconscious desire to go mountain biking that is beginning to creep into the light?

There is unrest in the forest,
There is trouble with the trees,
For the maples want more sunlight
And the oaks ignore their pleas.

The trouble with the maples,
(And they’re quite convinced they’re right)
They say the oaks are just too lofty
And they grab up all the light.
But the oaks can’t help their feelings
If they like the way they’re made.
And they wonder why the maples
Can’t be happy in their shade.

There is trouble in the forest,
And the creatures all have fled,
As the maples scream “Oppression!”
And the oaks just shake their heads

So the maples formed a union
And demanded equal rights.
“The oaks are just too greedy;
We will make them give us light.”
Now there’s no more oak oppression,
For they passed a noble law,
And the trees are all kept equal
By hatchet, axe, and saw.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

